Surviving a breakup

by ronnalouisewhite

Breaking up can seem like it is the end of the world or as if everything is caving in around you. Moving on can be extremely difficult but it needs to be done.

The first thing you need to realize is that your heartache is not going to go away all on its own. Sometimes you will have to take matters into your own hands like staying busy and focusing on yourself for a change.

Last summer, I went through a big breakup and it was very difficult for me to figure out what to do with all my new free time. So to combat me moping around and constantly being depressed, I took action.

I remember the top three most important things that I did that helped me overcome my sorrows were reading, working out, and being around other people as much as possible.

I personally always seem to run to books when I need to keep my mind clear and not dwell on certain things. Reading is an amazing escape from reality. A book puts you in a different world and makes you forget about your life for a while. I’ve realized that reading a good book can change my whole day around.

I also enjoyed working out and doing anything physical because it helped snap me out of any funk that I was in very quickly. Working out gets your endorphins flowing that causes you to be happy. I liked setting personal goals for myself while I was staying active because it helped keep me motivated and self-aware. Working out can help keep your mind off other nonsense that usually would cloud your head.

The best advice I can give to someone going through a breakup is to always be around other people. Constantly interacting with other individuals will help you tremendously. Also going on a few dates never hurt anyone. Plus the thrill of meeting, kissing, and even having sex with someone new can be helpful during the moving on process. I personally feel that putting yourself out there and actually being intimate with another person can benefit you. Sometimes testing the waters again helps.

Surviving a breakup takes time. You’re not going to feel better a week after it happens and maybe not even a month later. You just need to focus on yourself and all of the positive things and people involved in your life. This is your time to gain a better you and focus solely on yourself from the inside out. Stay motivated and remember to have fun. Love will find you again, just be patient and keep an open mind.

