Ready, set, go have sex

by ronnalouisewhite

Recently I’ve noticed that a lot of my Christian friends are getting married. Each of them have strong faith in God and they wanted to wait to have sex until they were married. Think got me thinking. Is it better to wait to have sex or just jump right in?

I 100 percent think that if you have the willpower to wait till marriage before you have intercourse with your partner than go for it. For me that was not the case. My only rule for me was that I wanted to be in love before having sex.

Each person has their own set of personal principles that they follow. Whether or not you want to wait till you’ve made a lifelong commitment to someone or you want to have sex commitment free, it’s up to you and your values. Don’t let others make you feel bad for having different values than them.

For me, I think that having sex before marriage is better. I want to have an emotional, physical, and mental connection with my partner before I commit my whole life to them. I think it’s extremely important to have a healthy sex life in a relationship, so thinking about abstaining from sex until I married my partner just does not seem plausible.

Somethings are worth waiting for. Like keeping your cracked iPhone for an extra few months until the new model comes out. But I don’t think sex should be this category. Having sex with your partner is important. I understand that sometimes instant gratification can sometimes be disappointing, but sex is different.

I think people should have sex before marriage for a number of reasons.

1. Gain experience
Having sex for the first time is not that great. It can be painful, awkward, and just plain boring. It’s good to get some experience in the beginning so that you can learn from your mistakes and become a better lover.

2. Take a test drive
You don’t buy a car without test driving it, so why should sex be any different? If you wait until marriage to have sex and sex is horrible with your partner than you’re stuck with a lifetime of sucky sex.

3. It’s good for you
Having a physical connection with someone is extremely important.

4. Disappointment
Anticipating having sex on your wedding night can lead to unrealistic expectations which potentially can lead to disappointment.

5. Curiosity
Waiting till marriage leaves you with only having one sexual partner during your lifetime. This can lead to becoming curious down the line which could lead to infidelity or just tension in the relationship

