New Year, New Goals

by ronnalouisewhite

2016 was a whirlwind of a year for me. I graduated college, bought myself a brand new car, started working in corporate America and I’m finally in a loving and healthy relationship.

I know a lot of people feel like 2016 was a shit show….which it was for the most part, but there was also a lot of good that happened. I wanted to have this positive mindset going into 2017 and stop focusing so heavily on the negative like I previous have.

While thinking over all of the positive things that occurred and the lifelong goals that I obtained in 2016, it got me thinking about my 2017 resolutions. Every single year I pledge to lose x amount of weight and a laundry list of other things that I never accomplish, which then in return makes me feel like shit. So I decided to do something a little different this year.

I ask my boyfriend to write 10 goals he wants for me, himself and our relationship in 2017 and I did the same. Personally I think setting goals makes my new years “resolution” seems more attainable since these goals are not confined to just 1 year—like a resolution typically is.

This activity was honestly really fun! My boyfriend was so down to write out these goals and this discuss them with me once we both had finished. The funny part is is that most of our goals for each other, ourselves and our relationship were pretty damn identical, which made even more sure of our relationship!

Here are the top 10 goals that my boyfriend and I collectively came up with for our relationship:

  1. Support each other no matter what.
  2. Learn how to save money. (75% of each pay check goes into our savings account)
  3. Have at least 1 date night a week.
  4. Disconnect from our electronics when we’re together.
  5. Cultivate a common interest and actually do it.
  6. Eat mindfully and sweat together at least 3 times a week.
  7. Slow down and enjoy the little things more.
  8. Move out sometime within 2017 to 2018.
  9. Let go of toxic people in our lives and make more effort with the positive people.
  10. Make more time for friends and family. (Time away from each other is a good thing)

I challenge everyone to write out their goals for 2017. To make it even easier you can write out a list of short-term and long-term goals. Not only does this activity get you excited for what the next year holds, but it also starts off the year on a positive note.

I pray that 2017 brings more love and less hate, more curiosity and less following the crowd, more open-mindedness and less ignorance and so much more to us all as a people.

Here’s to a wonderful 2017!

